Skip to main content

Engagement rollover

Roll forward an engagement to the next year

Rollover allows you to select a custom configuration to roll forward an engagement from the previous year.

Start a rollover

In your engagement, open Settings > Information and click Start rollover.


Fill out the new engagement's name and other basic information.

Rollover configuration

Use the toggles to select what engagement data should be rolled over. Below are the rollover configuration options.

Sheets

Selecting this will roll over all sheets within the Sheet tab, except for the population sheets with samples. Agent trigger settings for the engagement are also included when sheets are rolled over.

Column rollover settings

Before rolling over, you can tell Fieldguide whether to retain or clear specific columns within the new engagement. You can configure this for each column individually.For example, you may want to keep the previous engagement's "Tests" data, but clear out the "Results" column in the new engagement.

Only firm admins can change column rollover settings. See here for more info on user roles and permissions.

To edit the column rollover settings:

  1. In your engagement's sheet, open the Columns menu and click Column rollover settings.

  2. For each column, choose the desired setting from the dropdown menu: "Clear data" or "Retain data." You can bulk-edit by checking the box next to multiple columns and then choosing the desired setting.

  3. Save your settings. Your column settings will be applied to the rolled-over engagement.

You can't set column rollover settings on Magic Columns. The following sections in this article contain information on rollover for Requests, Documents, and Tasks.

Settings inheritance

Column rollover settings carry over into next engagement. When you clone, rollover, or create an engagement from a template, the new engagement's columns will default to the same rollover settings as the prior engagement.

Population sheets with samples

Population sheets with samples in Sheets and Documents will be rolled over as placeholder files. Data within the sheet will be cleared, but columns will be retained from the prior engagement. You'll be provided with the option to upload a new population file to the placeholder.

Note that you can't import a population with >5,000 rows to a sample placeholder file. For populations larger than this, we recommend creating a new sample sheet.

Requests

Selecting this will roll over all requests and link them to the sheet. Statuses for these requests will be set to 'Open'. This will also create linked folders, if any. You can also choose whether to keep the previous request owners as well as whether to set client visibility to "No Client Access" for all requests.

Documents

If you choose to roll over documents, any rolled over requests and tasks will be linked automatically to their respective folders.

You can choose to roll over:

  • All folders and documents

  • The folder structure only

  • Manually selected documents or preselected documents

Preselected documents

To preselect documents for rollover, firm users can enable the rollover flag on documents at any point during the engagement. Once an admin begins the engagement rollover with the Preselected documents option, documents that have been flagged will be automatically selected. They can proceed with the existing selection or make manual changes, if needed.


Sample sheets can't be preselected for rollover. Admins can roll over sample sheets by enabling the Population sheets with samples option in the rollover menu.

Preselect documents for rollover

Firm users can preselect documents for rollover by enabling the rollover flag in the document's options menu.

  1. On the desired document or folder, open the 3-dots menu and click Include for rollover.

  2. A rollover icon ➡️ will display next to the document name. If a folder contains any documents that have been marked for rollover, the icon will be shown by that folder's name. If a folder contains any documents that have been marked for rollover, the icon will be shown by that folder's name.

Document sheets that are referenced from other engagements can't be preselected for rollover.

Bulk select documents for rollover

To flag multiple documents for rollover, click the checkboxes next to multiple documents and click Include for rollover in the bulk actions menu in the top-right.

De-select a document from rollover

Open the 3-dots menu and select Exclude from rollover. This action can also be performed in bulk. Or, admins can de-select documents after starting the rollover process by clicking ➕Select documents in the rollover menu.

Forms

If forms are rolled over, all data will be retained and dates will be increased by a year.

Tasks

Tasks from engagement template are imported automatically during every rollover. Select this if you want to roll over all other tasks in addition to this. Task data and components will be cleared.

Milestones

Milestones will be copied over without due dates or owners.

Engagement access

Choose whether to keep the same user permissions.

Did this answer your question?