Admins can restrict column management in a sheet template to prevent non-admins and client users from removing them or modifying their metadata in downstream sheets. Restricting column management doesn't prevent users from editing cell contents—it only prevents them from changing the column itself.
Restricting sheet column management only restricts editing on columns that originate from a sheet template. They don't restrict users from creating new columns or from editing manually-created columns inside an engagement's sheet.
To restrict column management, follow these steps:
Open the Columns menu inside the sheet template.
Click Lock columns.
This setting applies automatically to any sheets created from the template.

